Clinical Program Awards and Celebrations

The graduate students in our clinical psychology doctoral program are the backbone of the program. The program has 25-30 active graduate students at any one time, and all students are actively involved in running the research labs, staffing the training clinic, and assisting in course instruction. The quality of our students is evidenced by their high-level of research productivity and their success on the internship and job market, including a 100% match rate to American Psychological Association (APA) accredited APPIC internships for more than 10 years.

Clinical Program Awards

The John Hurley Endowed Fellowship Award

This award, in honor of the late Professor John Hurley, is given to the best dissertation in the Clinical Psychology Program each year. John Hurley was Professor of Psychology at MSU for 45 years. He earned his Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from the University of Iowa in 1953 and later earned a Diplomate in Clinical Psychology. Dr. Hurley was a nationally known scholar in group psychotherapy who studied T-groups, group therapy processes, interpersonal theory, leadership in groups, and interpersonal perceptions. He served as the President of the Michigan Group Psychotherapy Society.

The 2018/2019 Hurley Award was given to Brooke Slawinski. Congratulations Brooke!

Current Hurley Award Winner: Brooke Slawinski

Clinical Excellence Award

This award is given to a fifth year graduate student who has most clearly demonstrated excellence in their clinical work during graduate school.

Congratulations to the 2017/2018 award winner, Nicola Bernard

Current Clinical Excellence Award Winner: Nicola Bernard​

Research Excellence Award

This award is given to a fourth year student for excellence in research during graduate school.

Congratulations to the 2017/2018 award winner, Brooke Slawinski

Current Research Excellence Award Winner: Brooke Slawinski

Master's Thesis Presentation Award

Each year, the second year Clinical Psychology graduate students present their master's research to the entire Clinical Psychology Program. The Master’s Thesis Presentation Award is selected by the program faculty and given to the student with the best presentation that year.

Congratulations to Kyle Frost, the 2017/2018 recipient of the Master’s Thesis Presentation Award!

Current Master's Thesis Presentation Award Winner: Kyle Frost

The Norman Abeles Award for Outstanding Clinical Service

This award is given to a second year student who has most clearly demonstrated clinical skill and growth as a clinician over the course of their first year of practicum. The benefactors of the award are former graduate students of the MSU Clinical Psychology Program who contributed to the fund in honor of Dr. Norman Abeles’ retirement in 2010. Dr. Abeles is an Emeritus Professor who served as the clinic director for 26 years and significantly contributed to the clinical and research training of our graduate students. 

Congratulations to the 2017/2018 award winner, Beier Yao

Current Norman Abeles Award Winner: Beier Yao

Clinical Psychology Training Fellowship

This highly competitive fellowship is awarded in recognition of demonstrated academic and professional excellence. The express goal is to facilitate the recruitment and retention of particularly promising graduate students from historically underrepresented groups.

Congratulations to the 2018 award winners, Christopher Webster and Lauren Wiklund!

Current Clinical Psychology Training Fellowship Winner: Christopher Webster
Current Clinical Psychology Training Fellowship Winner: Lauren Wiklund

The John and Margo Reisman Award

This award helps recruit exceptional students of unusual promise, who in turn have the potential to elevate the MSU Clinical Psychology Program to new levels of excellence. The annual scholarship provides additional funding, over and above what could otherwise be offered, to one top applicant in each admissions class. 

The scholarship is endowed by Dr. John M. Reisman and his late wife, Margo Reisman.  Dr. Reisman is an alumnus of the MSU Clinical Psychology doctoral program and an Emeritus Professor of Psychology at DePaul University in Chicago. Mrs. Reisman was also a proud MSU graduate in Elementary Education. 

Congratulations to the 2018 award winner, Alexandra Vazquez!

Current John and Margo Reisman Award Winner: Alexandra Vazquez

Clinical Psychology Program Celebrations

Graduation Celebrations

In the spring of 2018, five of our sixth year students successfully earned their doctoral degrees! Congratulations to Sharon Lo, Antonia Garcia, Shannon O'Connor, Katherine Pickard, and Hans Schroder!

6Th Year2018
6Th Year Advisor2018
6Th Year Commencement2018

In the spring of 2018, four of our second year students successfully defended their master’s theses! Congratulations to Kyle Frost, Natasha Fowler, Livon Ghermezi, and Beier Yao!

Master Celebration2018
2Nd Year2018

Fall Welcome Party

Each fall, our program hosts a party to welcome all incoming and returning students and faculty. In fall 2018, we welcomed seven new graduate students and one new faculty member. Welcome Alexandra Ballinger, Sarah Carroll, Megan Mikhail, Aksheya Sridhar, Alexandra Vazquez,  Christopher Webster, Lauren Wiklund, and Dr. Jae Puckett!

Welcome Party2018